+ Reply to Thread

Thread: Help - Overwatered Phal

Help - Overwatered Phal

I have three gorgeous phalaenopsis in a common pot. I noticed the other day that the one of the leaves on one was turning yellow. At first I didn't think too much about it. Then a couple more turned yellow and dropped off. I asked my wife if she'd water it recently; she said no. I haven't watered it either. I checked the planting medium and it's real wet. The only thing we can think of is the housekeeper has been watering it.

What can I do to try and save the sick plant and prevent problems with the other two? Obviously we'll let the housekeeper know not to water it.

Thanks.

EBS

Help - Overwatered Phal

Hi EBSDallas,

I'm by no means an expert, but I am currently having some success with my Phals, and here's what I'd recommend. First, what kind of container are these plants in? You didn't mention if there was drainage or not. In my experience, phals like to be in containers with good drainage. This means a plastic cup container with tons of holes on the bottom and also some on the sides, or a clay orchid pot with drainage holes on the sides and bottom. Next, I'm not sure why all three are in the same container, but I think I'd separate them for the time being, because as orchids become more unhealthy due to i.e. overwatering, it can make them more susceptible to disease and pests. Orchids planted that close together could get each other sick. Third, what is the potting medium that the plants are in? Is it sphagnum moss (this is the moss that many come potted in from the store)? If it is moss, here's what I suggest. Carefully remove the plants from the pot they're in. fill a bowl with tepid water and allow each plant to soak to loosen the moss that's around the roots. once the moss is soaked, you can carefully start to remove the moss from around the roots. Get as much off as you can. Then examine the roots. You ideally want firm, white, brownish or green roots. They must be firm. Roots